Boating can be a very relaxing activity. However, it can also be dangerous if operators do not take the right precautions. If you were injured in a watercraft collision in The Woodlands, a boat accident lawyer could help you get compensation for your damages. With help from an experienced personal injury attorney, you could hold the responsible parties accountable for their careless or reckless actions.
Boating Restrictions in Texas
Texas restricts who is allowed to operate personal watercrafts, sailboats more than 14 feet long, and powerboats with 15 horsepower motors or higher.
Boating Restrictions for Some Adults and Children Over 13 Years Old
In Texas, an individual must be at least 13 years old to operate a boat. Additionally, they must pass a Texas Parks and Wildlife safety course to obtain their boating card. Those born before September 1, 1993, do not need a card.
Boating Restrictions for Persons Younger than 13 Years Old
Texas law permits children under 13 years old to operate restricted vehicles only if they are supervised by someone who can lawfully operate the watercraft and is at least 18 years old. The supervising party must be on the boat for the entire time the child is operating it.
Safety Precautions on Watercrafts
Texas law requires personal flotation devices, including life jackets, to be available in most boating situations. The Texas Parks and Wildlife official site offers a detailed explanation of the requirements for these lifesaving devices. A local boat accident attorney could inform an injured party of the ramifications of violating these restrictions.
Statute of Limitations in Personal Injury Cases
In Texas, an injured party must file a personal injury lawsuit within two years of the date of the accident. This statute may become complicated if the accident occurred far offshore because maritime law usually governs these boating accidents.
A victim of a maritime boat accident generally has three years to file a lawsuit. An experienced boat accident lawyer in the community could identify how much time a victim has to file their claim.
Proving Negligence in a Watercraft Accident
A victim may only receive compensation if they can prove the third party is negligent. A person is considered negligent if they had a duty to keep the victim safe, they breached that duty, and their actions caused the victim’s injuries. A boat operator who did not have the required life jackets onboard could be held liable if a passenger falls overboard and is injured.
Boat accident victims could be compensated for a variety of economic and non-economic damages, including:
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Future lost earnings
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of enjoyment of life
A lawyer in the area familiar with negligence lawsuits could help a boat accident victim calculate their damages.
Call a Boat Accident Attorney in The Woodlands
If you were injured in a boating accident, you should concentrate on your recovery. There is no need to take on a legal case alone. A boat accident lawyer in the Woodlands could focus on getting you the compensation you need while you heal. Contact us today for your free consultation.